Home SBPA History Recent News & Events The Battle of Shepherdstown Become a Member
Use PayPal!
SBPA Store SBPA's Corporate Sponsors Links

"History Worth Fighting For"

Shepherdstown Battlefield Preservation Association Inc.

PO Box 3359
Shepherdstown, WV 25443

Click Here to Send an email to SBPA

Mission Statement

The Shepherdstown Battlefield Preservation Association Inc. (SBPA) is a non-profit organization,
dedicated to preserving the site of the Civil War battle at Shepherdstown, West Virginia.
The battle fought here on September 19 and 20, 1862, brought to an end the Army of Northern Virginia's Maryland Campaign and was a significant factor in General Robert E. Lee's decision
to retreat farther into the Shenandoah Valley.
The battle is of significant historical value to our nation and a valuable West Virginia Landmark.
The Association intends for the site to be preserved as a park
dedicated to educating the general public of its historical significance.

Board Of Directors:

Edward E. Dunleavy - President
Steven Alemar - Vice-President
Gary L. Capriotti - Treasurer
Carol E. Dunleavy - Secretary and Webmaster
Dr. Thomas G. Clemens - Chairman History Committee
President, Save Historic Antietam Foundation
Sara Smith - Chairwoman, Fundraising Committee
Edward R. Moore - Chairman, Legal Committee
Dr. Michael L. Nickerson - Chairman, Benefit Concert Committee
Cindy Jo Feeser
Joe Khare
Nieltje Gedney
Kevin Pawlak

Historical Advisory Board:

Kevin T. Barksdale - Marshall University
Stephen W. Berry II - University of Georgia
Keith S. Bohannon - West Georgia State University
Peter S. Carmichael - West Virginia University
Thomas W. Cutrer - Arizona State University
William C. Davis - Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
William W. Freehling - Virginia Foundation for the Humanities
Gary W. Gallagher - University of Virginia
Lesley Jill Gordon - University of Akron
A. Wilson Greene - Petersburg, Virginia
Clark B. Hall – Fairfax, Virginia
Earl J. Hess- Lincoln Memorial University
Caroline E. Janney - Purdue University
Robert E. L. Krick - Richmond, Virginia
Susanna Michele Lee - North Carolina State University
William A. Link - University of Florida
Thomas A. McGrath – North Country College
James M. McPherson - Princeton University
Frank A. O’Reilly - Fredericksburg, Virginia
George C. Rable - University of Alabama
Gordon C. Rhea - Charleston South Carolina
Susannah J. Ural - University of Southern Mississippi
Joan Waugh - University of California, Los Angeles

Click Here to Read Biographies of SBPA's
Historical Advisory Board

Home SBPA History Recent News & Events The Battle of Shepherdstown Become a Member
Use PayPal!
SBPA Store SBPA's Corporate Sponsors Links